Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In | Register
Distinguished Service Award
Share |

This award is presented by NAASS in recognition of extraordinary service to NAASS and contributions to the field of summer session administration. The Award recognizes individuals who have provided noteworthy leadership in summer session administration by their exemplary service to NAASS, and/or by enhancing the status of summer sessions within higher education while administering successful summer sessions at their institution.

Likewise, each time the award is presented; it will be named on behalf of one of the historical leaders and valuable contributors to NAASS. The Executive Committee, upon consultation with the Administrative Council and with former presidents of NAASS as desirable, will designate the naming of the award.


  • Nominees should be actively involved in summer session. Nominees should be current members of NAASS who have held that membership for not less than 5 years.

  • Nominees should have performed service over an extended period of time within NAASS (and possibly other summer session associations) in ways that have been widely recognized for their benefit to other summer session administrators and members of NAASS or to the recognition of the role of summer sessions in higher education.

  • Nominees should have exhibited significant leadership and performance in their administrative roles in their own institutions and have developed or maintained a successful summer session program.

Nominations from subordinates on behalf of a superior in their own institution will not be accepted. NAASS members currently serving as officers of the organization are not eligible for nomination.


Nominations should be submitted each year when solicited by the nominations and elections committee for awards to be presented at the annual conference. A statement that specifies the reasons for the nomination should accompany a nomination for an award. It should also provide the names of at least two additional persons who may be asked to provide supporting statements or documentation. Although nominations will be accepted on an annual basis, awards will not necessarily be made each year.

The Executive Committee will review nominations and select award recipients. The committee may, at its option, seek consultation and advice from others including the Administrative Council, past presidents of NAASS, and presidents of other summer session associations.


Year Recipient Name Name of Person Honored
2016 Gary Simon  
2015 & 2014 No Award  
2013 Ken Smith Sue Day-Perroots
2013 Jon C. Neidy John LaBrie
2012 & 2011 No Award  
2010 John LaBrie Michael U. Nelson
2009 No Award  
2008 Cordelia Maloney Norm Watts
2007 Ron Wasserstein Stuart H. Manning
2006 Bill Kops Clodus R. Smith
2004 Allan Fanjoy Michael U. Nelson

 North American Association of Summer Sessions
2016 Harris Hall, Campus 7302 | Raleigh, NC 27695-7302 | USA